Four famous Buddhist mountains

The four famous mountains of Chinese Buddhism , the legend isthe dojo of the four great Bodhisattvas . Zhejiang Putuo Mountain is the Goddess of Mercy temple, Shanxi Wutai Mountain is Manjusri temple, Sichuan Emei is Samantabhadra temple, Anhui Mount Jiuhua is Jizo temple. The above four places are also collectively referred to as the ” Four Big Bodhisattva Dojos “.


  • Putuo Mountain : Located in the Putuo District of Zhoushan City, Zhejiang Province , it is the Guanyin Bodhisattva Dojo. Formerly known as Meilong Mountain, this mountain is famous for its unwillingness to go to Guanyin . It is considered to be as sacred as the Putuo Luojia Mountain in India . Since ancient times, Guanyin Bodhisattva has been sacred in this mountain, and there are countless inspirations. The should be the dojo.
  • Wutai Mountain : Located in Wutai County , Cangzhou City, Shanxi Province , it is the Manjushri Dojo. Also known as Qingliang Mountain and Wuding Mountain, it is the residence of the Manjushri.
  • Lushan : Located in Emeishan City , Leshan City, Sichuan Province , it is the Puxian Bodhisattva Dojo. Legend has it that the ancients saw the Samantabhadra Bodhisattva riding the six-white elephant in this mountain, so it was the Yinghua Dojo of the Samantabhadra. The golden dome on the mountain is beautiful, and the sunrise is a special feature.
  • Jiuhuashan : Located in Qingyang County , Chizhou City , Anhui Province , it is the Bodhisattva Taoist Temple. Legend of the Korean Peninsula, King of Silla sub Golden possession to this resident, who manifestation of God General robe the whole mountain wrapped to give this mountain the Lord’s offerings; because after the death of obvious joints such as locks Swiss phase, is considered Jizo incarnation, therefore The mountain is also known as the Dizang Bodhisattva Dojo.

Among the four major Foshan Mountains, the Buddhist temples in Wutai Mountain are the most majestic and dense. The Han Buddhism and Tibetan Buddhism architectures are gathered here. The sculpture sculptures are also the most exquisite, making them the first of the four Foshan. Some people also regard the four Foshan as the “four big” of Buddhism. These “four big” are also called “four boundaries” and refer to the basic elements of the four material phenomena of earth , water , fire and wind . Buddhism believes that everything in the world is composed of ” four major elements “. The so-called “four majors are empty” actually means that everything in the universe, including the human body, is illusory and unreal. Chinese Buddhists also described the Four Avenues as the embodiment of the “Four Big”. Recorded in “Putuo Mountain”:

” The Buddhist scriptures refer to the Tibetan Buddhism, the Puxian, the Manjusri, and the Guanyin Buddhas. The land, fire, water, and wind are the four major gatherings. Jiuhua, the ground also; Emei, fire also; five sets, the wind also; Putuo, water also.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.